Most-Cited Articles from the Most-Cited Journal
in Materials Science

Top 20 most-cited articles published in the last three years:

Single Sheet Functionalized Graphene by Oxidation and Thermal Expansion of Graphite
Michael J. McAllister, Je-Luen Li, Douglas H. Adamson, Hannes C. Schniepp, Ahmed A. Abdala, Jun Liu, Margarita Herrera-Alonso, David L. Milius, Roberto Car, Robert K. Prud’homme, and Ilhan A. Aksay

Inorganic Materials as Catalysts for Photochemical Splitting of Water
Frank E. Osterloh



Controlled Synthesis and Luminescence of Lanthanide Doped NaYF4 Nanocrystals
Leyu Wang and Yadong Li

Design, Synthesis, and Properties of Inorganic and Hybrid Thin Films Having Periodically Organized Nanoporosity
Clément Sanchez, Cédric Boissière, David Grosso, Christel Laberty and Lionel Nicole

Template-free Hydrothermal Synthesis of CuO/Cu2O Composite Hollow Microspheres
Huogen Yu, Jiaguo Yu, Shengwei Liu, and Stephen Mann


Template Synthesis of Nanostructured Materials via Layer-by-Layer Assembly
Yajun Wang, Alexandra S. Angelatos and Frank Caruso

Polymer Nanocomposites with Prescribed Morphology: Going beyond Nanoparticle-Filled Polymers
Richard A. Vaia and John F. Maguire


Catalytic Activity of Palladium Nanoparticles Encapsulated in Spherical Polyelectrolyte Brushes and Core-Shell Microgels
Yu Mei, Yan Lu, Frank Polzer, and Matthias Ballauff

Water-Soluble NaYF4:Yb,Er(Tm)/NaYF4/Polymer Core/Shell/Shell Nanoparticles with Significant Enhancement of Upconversion Fluorescence
James N. BeMiller


Hydrogen Storage in Microporous Hypercrosslinked Organic Polymer Networks
Guang-Shun Yi and Gan-Moog Chow

Hard Templating Pathways for the Synthesis of Nanostructured Porous Co3O4
Anja Rumplecker, Freddy Kleitz, Elena-Lorena Salabas, and Ferdi Schüth

Air Stable n-Channel Organic Semiconductors for Thin Film Transistors Based on Fluorinated Derivatives of Perylene Diimides
H. Z. Chen, M. M. Ling, X. Mo, M. M. Shi, M. Wang, and Z. Bao

Self-Assembled Polyaniline Nanofibers/Nanotubes
Nan-Rong Chiou, L. James Lee, and Arthur J. Epstein

Fabrication of pH-Responsive Nanocomposites of Gold Nanoparticles/Poly(4-vinylpyridine)
Dongxiang Li, Qiang He, Yue Cui, and Junbai Li

Energetic Salts of 3-Nitro-1,2,4-triazole-5-one, 5-Nitroaminotetrazole, and Other Nitro-Substituted Azoles
Hong Xue, Haixiang Gao, Brendan Twamley, and Jean’ne M. Shreeve

Synthesis, Structure Determination, and Hydrogen Sorption Studies of New Metal-Organic Frameworks Using Triazole and Naphthalenedicarboxylic Acid
Hyunsoo Park, James F. Britten, Ulrich Mueller, JeongYong Lee, Jing Li, and John B. Parise

Lanthanide-Doped NaYF4 Nanocrystals in Aqueous Solution Displaying Strong Up-Conversion Emission
Helmut Schäfer, Pavel Ptacek, Karsten Kömpe, and Markus Haase

Stable Solution-Processed High-Mobility Substituted Pentacene Semiconductors
Yuning Li, Yiliang Wu, Ping Liu, Zorica Prostran, Sandra Gardner, and Beng S. Ong

Cyanonaphthalene Diimide Semiconductors for Air-Stable, Flexible, and Optically Transparent n-Channel Field-Effect Transistors
Brooks A. Jones, Antonio Facchetti, Tobin J. Marks, and Michael R. Wasielewski

Templating Mesoporous Zeolites
Kresten Egeblad, Christina H. Christensen, Marina Kustova and Claus H. Christensen

1155 Sixteenth Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20036